Historical Notes by Simon L. Taylor, LSMIEEE, 26 May 2009.

From a handwritten note, provided to me by: DOUG HINTON: FIEEE, in late 1983: in support of a Belleville Sub-Section recommendation for him to be awarded a 1984 IEEE Centennial Medal. He was the Chairman of the Bay of Quinte Section in 1967- 68; Secretary-Treasurer of Region 7 in 1968-1969; Chairman of Central Canada Council in 1970-71; Director of Region 7 in 1972-1973, and Vice-President of IEEE for Regional Affairs from 1977 to ??? possibly even until 1983). His widow advises me that he died in 2000.

This next item is from my memory only: Doug Hinton's Vice Chairman in 1967-68 was Ron (J.R.) Church, Erie Technological Products, Trenton (Belleville Sub-Section). I worked with Ron in the Engineering Department of Erie at that time.

From this point, there is a gap in the Bay of Quinte Section details.

- 1976-77 Chairman: Luc Matteau (CGE, also later Milltronics, Peterborough), Vice Chairman: Syd Horne (Northern Electric, Belleville), Secretary-Treasurer, Simon Taylor (Crane Canada, Trenton: Belleville Sub Section) except that I am virtually certain that I held this post in the years from 1975 to 1978.
- 1977-1978 Chairman: Syd Horne (Belleville): Vice-Chairman: Denis Lywood (Kingston Queens U.)
 Secretary-Treasurer: Simon Taylor (Belleville- Trenton): Past Chairman: Luc Matteau, (Peterborough) from which we can reasonably surmise he was Chairman in 1976-77, and possibly also in 1975-76.
 See above: 1976-77.
- 1978-79 Chairman : Denis Lywood ; Vice Chairman : Murray Bennett (Peterborough), Secretary.- Treasurer : Simon Taylor ; Past Chairman Syd Horne.
- 1979 -80 Chairman : Murray Bennett ; Vice Chairman : Simon Taylor ; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr Blythe Broughton SMIEEE (Kingston, RMC) ; Past Chairman, Denis Lywood.
- 1980-81 Chairman : Simon Taylor ; Vice Chairman , Dr Hafizur Rahman (Kingston, RMC) Secretary-Treasurer, Dr Blythe Broughton, Past Chairman, Murray Bennett.

On 26 March 1981, the Director of Region 7, Jean-Jacques Archambault, FIEEE (Hydro Quebec), attended a Section Executive Meeting, and toured plants in the Peterborough area..

- 1981-82 Chairman: Dr Hafizur Rahman; Vice Chairman, Tony Eastham (Kingston), Secretary- Treasurer, Blythe Broughton; Past Chairman, Simon Taylor.
- 1982-83 Chairman; Tony Eastham, Vice Chairman, John MacKelvie (Peterborough),
 Secretary-Treasurer, David Boothman (Peterborough); Past Chmn: Dr Hafizur Rahman
- 1983-84 Chairman : John MacKelvie ; Vice-Chairman : Dr. Haran Karmaker (CGE, Peterborough)
 Secretary-Treasurer : David Boothman ; Past Chairman, Tony Eastham

At the May 1984 AGM, in Kingston, the Director of Region 7, Wally Read, presented IEEE Centennial Medals to 4 recipients; 2 to Peterborough, Robert Rehder and Eric Whiteley, and 2 to Kingston, Charles Campling and John Plant, and a fifth IEEE Medal to Doug Hinton.

- 1984-85 Chairman : Haran Karmaker ; Vice Chairman VACANT : Secretary Treasurer, David Boothman, Past Chairman (presumably) John MacKelvie.
- From the AGM Notice of 1985, there were no new nominations, due to the dissolution of the Bay of Quinte Section.