5, COULTER CRESCENT TRENTON, ONTARIO, K8V 3E9 Tel : 613 - 392 - 4316 26th May 2009 E-mail SLTCROSSBOW@HOTMAIL>COM SIMONL.TAYLOR@IEEE.ORG

Following the 2009 St John's, Nfld. Spring Meeting, at which an appeal was made to all Sections to provide details of their Histories, the following will, I hope, be of interest to you.

It concerns, principally, the now defunct Bay of Quinte Section, which operated for a long time as three subsections, Belleville, Kingston and Peterborough, but it had its own "charter" dating from 1955 - we have a paperwork reminder of its 25th Anniversary from the IEEE in 1980 - from which the Peterborough and Kingston Sections were formed, after its dissolution in 1985. Geographically, Belleville was the lynch-pin of the Section, but Belleville proved unable to maintain technical activities from about 1983 onwards, and it was a struggle even long before that.

UNLESS NOTED : All information given in this e-mail can be substantiated by paperwork (which, if anyone is still collecting, I will be glad to send to them).

From a handwritten note, provided to me by

DOUG HINTON: FIEEE, in late 1983: in support of a Belleville Sub- Section recommendation for him to be awarded a 1984 IEEE Centennial Medal. He was the Chairman of the Bay of Quinte Section in 1967-68; Secretary-Treasurer of Region 7 in 1968-1969; Chairman of Central Canada Council in 1970-71; Director of Region 7 in 1972-1973,

and Vice-President of IEEE for Regional Affairs from 1977 to ??? (possibly even until 1983). His widow advises me that he died in 2000.

This next item is from my memory only: Doug Hinton's Vice Chairman in 1967-68 was Ron (J.R.) Church, Erie Technological Products, Trenton (Belleville Sub-Section). I worked with Ron in the Engineering Department of Erie at that time.

From this point, there is a gap in the Bay of Quinte Section details until:

No paperwork to confirm 1976-77:

1976-77Chairman : Luc Matteau (CGE, also later Milltronics, Peterborough), Vice Chairman : Syd Horne (Northern Electric, Belleville), Secretary -Treasurer, Simon Taylor (Crane Canada, Trenton: Belleville Sub Section) - except that I am virtually certain that I held this post in the years from 1975 to 1978.

Confirmed by Bay of Quinte paperwork, or Minutes of AGM, or meetings;

1977-1978 Chairman: Syd Horne (Belleville), Vice-Chairman: Denis Lywood (Kingston- Queens U.),
Secretary-Treasurer: Simon Taylor (Belleville-Trenton), Past Chairman: Luc Matteau (Peterborough)
from which we can reasonably surmise he was Chairman in 1976-77, and possibly also in 1975-76.
1976-77: see above
1978-79: Chairman: Denis Lywood, Vice Chairman: Murray Bennett (Peterborough), SecretaryTreasurer: Simon Taylor; Past Chairman Syd Horne.
1979 -80 Chairman: Murray Bennett, Vice Chairman: Simon Taylor, Secretary-Treasurer: Dr Blythe
Broughton SMIEEE (Kingston, RMC), Past Chairman, Denis Lywood.
1980-81Chairman: Simon Taylor, Vice Chairman: Dr Hafizur Rahman (Kingston, RMC), SecretaryTreasurer: Dr Blythe Broughton, Past Chairman: Murray Bennett.

On 26 March 1981, the Director of Region 7, Jean-Jacques Archambault, FIEEE (Hydro Quebec), attended a Section Executive Meeting, and toured plants in the Peterborough area.

1981-82 Chairman: Dr Hafizur Rahman, Vice Chairman: Tony Eastham (Kingston), Secretary-Treasurer: Blythe Broughton, Past Chairman: Simon Taylor.
1982-83 Chairman; Tony Eastham, Vice Chairman: John MacKelvie (Peterborough), Secretary-Treasurer: David Boothman (Peterborough), Past Chmn: Dr Hafizur Rahman
1983-84 Chairman: John MacKelvie, Vice-Chairman: Dr. Haran Karmaker (CGE, Peterborough), Secretary-Treasurer: David Boothman, Past Chairman: Tony Eastham

At the May 1984 AGM, in Kingston, the Director of Region 7, Wally Read, presented IEEE Centennial Medals to 4 recipients; 2 to Peterborough, Robert Rehder and Eric Whiteley, and 2 to Kingston, Charles Campling and John Plant, and a fifth IEEE Medal to Doug Hinton.

1984-85 Chairman: Haran Karmaker, Vice Chairman – VACANT, Secretary –Treasurer: David Boothman, Past Chairman (presumably) John MacKelvie. 1985 -86 From the AGM Notice of 1985, there were no new nominations, due to the impending dissolution of the Bay of Quinte Section. From this AGM notice, the first PETERBOROUGH Chairman will be Dr. Haran Karmaker in 1985, and the first Vice Chairman, Barry O'Sullivan, but I have NO note about KINGSTON'S.

AS REGARDS PETERBOROUGH SECTION, I have virtually no written notices (apart from the above) until 2005, EXCEPT for the following: A notice asking for my vote to form the Section - given YES - in late 1985, and returned to Haran Karmaker.

A notice of the 1986 AGM, 8 May: Chairman: Haran Karmaker, Vice Chairman, Barry Sullivan, Treasurer: David Boothman, Secretary: Peter Kreppenhofer.

A notice of the 1987 AGM, 4 May; Chairman: Barry J. O'Sullivan, Vice Chairman: Ahmed M. Kamar. The Secretary-Treasurer, Peter Kreppenhofer did not run again, due to transfer from the Peterborough Robotics Centre. From there, a long gap occurs until 2001.

Sean will be able to confirm that he has held the Chairman's position from 2001 to 2008, and onwards into 2009. He will also likely be able to provide his Vice Chairmen's names in those years. The Secretary in 2004, and 2005, was, I believe, Madu Thiruganasam (this name is abbreviated), and the Treasurer, Dr. Nick Stranges, for the same years.

In 2006, Sean Dunne, as Chairman, asked Kevin Kirley to be the Vice Chairman, Dr Nick Stranges to be the Treasurer, and Simon Taylor to be the Secretary. This was ratified at the Section AGM, and those named have continued in office in 2007, in 2008, and in 2009, also expected to be so in 2009-2010.

By copies as noted above, I request that all Bay of Quinte / Peterborough/ Kingston addressees forward any pertinent historical information to Bob Alden. I would appreciate being copied thereon - thanks. I will also try to contact Mrs Hinton and see if she still has any of Doug Hinton's papers.

Simon L. Taylor, LSMIEEE, 26 May 2009.