THE ENGINEERING INSTITUTE OF CANADA AND ITS CONSTITUENT SOCIETIES



L'INSTITUT CANADIEN DES INGÉNIEURS ET SES SOCIÉTÉS CONSTITUTIVES

NEWS COMMUNIQUÉ

Office of the President

15 December 2020

The Engineering Institute of Canada, founded in 1887, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2021 senior engineering awards and fellowship inductees. The senior awards of the EIC are the highest distinctions made by the Institute and are awarded to deserving members of its 14 constituent societies.

Six truly exceptional engineers will be presented with EIC's 2021 engineering medals in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service to the engineering profession. In addition, 24 truly outstanding engineers will be inducted as 2021 EIC Fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.

These 2021 awards will be presented along with 2020 awards at the next EIC Gala/ Banquet which, due to ongoing pandemic circumstances, will be held at the Hilton Lac-Leamy hotel in Gatineau/Ottawa in the Spring of 2022. We expect that all safety concerns will have been fully resolved by then **and we sincerely hope you will be able to join us** in person to celebrate these truly outstanding engineers. Gala tickets may be reserved <u>online</u>. The 2021 award winners are:

SIR JOHN KENNEDY Medal

For outstanding service to the profession and noteworthy contributions to the science of engineering

Dennis E. Becker, CGS

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FCSME Principal, Golder Associates, Calgary, AB

JULIAN C. SMITH Medal (2 recipients)

For exceptional achievement in the development of Canada

Wayne Clifton, CSCE

Ke Wu, IEEE Cda

M.Sc., P.Eng. CEO, Clifton Associates Ltd, Regina, SK *Ph.D., FCAE, FRSC, FIEEE* Professor, Polytechnique Montréal, QC

K.Y. LO Medal

For significant engineering contributions at the international level

Michael Ngadi, CSBE

Ph.D., FCSBE, FNIAE James McGill Professor, McGill Univ., Montreal, QC



L'INSTITUT CANADIEN DES INGÉNIEURS ET SES SOCIÉTÉS CONSTITUTIVES

JOHN B. STIRLING Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the national level

Laurence Tianruo Yang, IEEE Cda

Ph.D., FEIC, FCAE, FIEEE Professor, St Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, NS

CPR Engineering Medal

For leadership and distinguished service at the regional/local level

Jean Côté, CGS

Ph.D., FEIC, Ing. Professor, Laval University, Québec, QC

To be inducted as EIC Fellows (24 recipients)

Marco Amabili	McGill University	Brian Amsden	Queen's University
(CNS)	Montreal, QC	(CSChE)	Kingston, ON
James Blatz	University of Manitoba	Bing Chen	Memorial University
(CGS)	Winnipeg, MB	(CSCE)	St-John's, NL
Venkata Dinavahi	University of Alberta	Savvas Hatzikiriakos	Univ. of British Columbia
(IEEE Cda)	Edmonton, AB	(CSChE)	Vancouver, BC
Heinrich Heinz	Thurber Engineering Ltd	Ekram Hossain	University of Manitoba
(CGS)	Calgary, AB	(IEEE Cda)	Winnipeg, MB
Karim S. Karim	University of Waterloo	Angela G. Küpper	BGC Engineering Inc.
(IEEE Cda)	Waterloo, ON	(CDA)	Edmonton, AB
Rick Lovat	Lovat Tunnelling Sol.	Moncef Nehdi	Western University
(TAC)	Toronto, ON	(CSCE)	London, ON
Natalia Nikolova	McMaster University	Ya-Jun Pan	Dalhousie University
(IEEE Cda)	Hamilton. ON	(IEEE Cda)	Halifax, NS
Subhash Rakheja	Concordia University	Gamal Refai-Ahmed	Xilinx Inc.
(CSME)	Montreal, QC	(IEEE Cda)	Markham, ON
Alan Scott	Honeywell International	Jinjun Shan	York University
(IEEE Cda)	Arnprior, ON	(IEEE Cda)	Toronto. ON
Andrew Small	Klohn Crippen Berger	Sherry Trenholm	City of Moncton
(CDA)	Fredericton, NB	(CSCE)	Riverview, NB
Ning Yan	University of Toronto	Xiao-Ping Zhang	Ryerson University
(CSChE)	Toronto. ON	(IEEE Cda)	Toronto, ON
Yi Zhang	RTDS Technologies	Saeed Zolfaghari	Ryerson University
(IEEE Cda)	Winnipeg, MB	(IISE Cda)	Toronto, ON

For exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada