2017 IEEE Canada Awards Recipients

IEEE Canada is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2017 IEEE Canada Awards and Medals.

These Awards recognize the outstanding contributions made in the Electrical, Electronics and Computer Engineering fields by its members. We also recognize and celebrate the long-standing volunteerism of our dedicated volunteers.

The Awards will be presented at the IEEE Canada Awards Gala on May 1, 2017 at Caesars Windsor, Windsor, ON.

A.G.L. McNaughton Award

Dr. Michel Nakhla: Ottawa, ON

  • “For outstanding contributions to signal integrity of high-speed systems and interconnects”
  • « Pour des contributions exceptionnelles à l’intégrité de signaux des systèmes à grande vitesse et des interconnexions »

R.A. Fessenden Award

Dr. Leslie Rusch: Quebec City, QC

  • “For contributions to communications systems in optical & wireless technology Importance”
  • « Pour les contributions aux systèmes de communication en optique et l’importance de la technologie sans fil »

Electric Power Award

Dr. Praveen K Jain: Kingston, ON

  • “For contributions to the theory and practice of high frequency power converters”
  • « Pour les contributions à la théorie et la pratique des convertisseurs d’Énergie de haute fréquence »

C.C. Gotlieb Computer Award

Dr. Hussein T Mouftah: Ottawa, ON

  • “For outstanding contributions to Computer Networks Science and Engineering Importance”
  • « Pour des contributions exceptionnelles à l’importance des sciences et de l’ingénierie des réseaux informatiques »

Outstanding Engineer Award

Dr. Federico Rosei: Montreal, QC

  • “For contributions to the study of several classes of nano-materials”
  • « Pour les contributions à l’étude de plusieurs classes de nano-matériaux »

R.H. Tanner Industry Leadership Award

Dr. Weiming Shen: Ottawa, ON

  • “For outstanding contributions to collaborative intelligent systems”
  • « Pour des contributions exceptionnelles aux systèmes collaboratifs intelligents »

W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Fabrice Labeau: Montreal, QC

  • “For volunteering within IEEE at the local level and within several societies”
  • « Pour le bénévolat au sein de l’IEEE au niveau local et au sein de plusieurs sociétés »

E.F. Glass Western Canada Merit Award

Dr. Rossitza Marinova: Edmonton, AB

  • “For volunteering within IEEE at the local level of the Northern Canada Section”
  • « Pour le bénévolat au sein de l’IEEE au niveau local de la section du Nord du Canada »

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.