IEEE Canada Awards 2020

The IEEE is delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 IEEE Canada Awards. This year, IEEE Canada will recognize eleven outstanding Canadian engineers, scientists and technologists for their exemplary contributions to engineering.

IEEE Canada normally hosts an Awards Gala as part of the CCECE conference, but since the conference has moved online, we did things a bit differently. We have included below pre-recorded acceptance speeches, and we had a special online session to hear about the work of some of the award winners.

We also made our usual Awards Brochure 2020.

A.G.L. McNaughton Award

Dr. Robert Hanna
For Contributions to Industry at large and Electrical Engineering profession

Direct Link to Video

C.C. Gotlieb Computer Award

Professor Laurence Yang
For contributions on cyber-physical-social system design and data analytics

Direct Link to Video

R.A. Fessenden Award

Dr. Wen Tong
For pioneering contributions to wireless communications, Physical layer security and 5G technologies

Direct Link to Video

R.H. Tanner Industry Leadership Award

Rasheek Rifaat
For contributions to improved safety of industrial power systems, and for ongoing development of standards for power system protection and coordination

Direct Link to Video

P.D. Ziogas Electric Power Award

Dr. Jing Jiang
For contributions to electrical power systems from generation (nuclear power plants) to distribution (microgrids) through research and development of advanced control and energy management systems

Direct Link to Video

Outstanding Engineer Award

Professor John Yeow
To recognize his significant contributions to the research & development and commercialization of micro/nanodevices for medical and industrial applications

Direct Link to Video

J.M. Ham Outstanding Engineering Educator Award

Professor Amir Aghdam
For successfully training world-class engineers and researchers for today’s industry and academia

Direct Link to Video

W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Keith Brown
For outstanding service and dedication to IEEE Canada (Region 7) and to the Engineering Profession at large

Picture of Keith Brown

Video not available

E.F. Glass Western Canada Merit Award

Dale Tardiff
For contributions to the Southern Alberta Section and the Southern Alberta IAS/PES Chapter

Direct Link to Video

M.B. Broughton Central Canada Merit Award

Murray MacDonald
For his contributions to the vitality of the London Section and contributions to Region 7 through Central Area Chair and committee member roles

Direct Link to Video

J.J. Archambault Eastern Canada Merit Award

Dr. Saida Maaroufi
For meritorious service in eastern Canada at the local IEEE Section and Area level

Direct Link to Video

IEEE Canada gratefully thanks all those who submitted and endorsed this year’s nominations, and encourages all members to nominate again next year.

For more information about the awards, see IEEE Canada Awards site.

Celia Desmond,
IEEE Canada Awards and Recognition Committee Chair,

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.