Recipients of J.M. Ham Outstanding Engineering Educator Award

Back: IEEE Canada > Awards > Major Awards for Members

Recipients of this medal are outstanding Canadian engineers recognized for sharing their technical and professional abilities through teaching (in industry, government or an institution of higher learning) and in doing so have made an outstanding contribution to engineering education. Award established in 1994.

Medal for J.M. Ham Outstanding Engineering Educator Award

2023 – Samuel Pierre, “For outstanding contributions to the training of the next generation of scientists and engineers in mobile computing, networking and e-learning.”

2022 – Lawrence Chen, “For outstanding contributions to student learning in engineering through teaching, curriculum development, pedagogical challenge, research, and community building.”

2021 – Lukas Chrostowski, “For exceptional training and education leadership in the design of silicon photonic devices and systems for applications in optical communications, biosensors and quantum information.”

2020 – Amir Aghdam, for “successfully training world-class engineers and researchers for today’s industry and academia.”

2019 – Tom Murad, for “the dual education program.”

2018 – Alegan Anpalagan, for “contributions to engineering education, training and research.”

2017 – (No award)

2016 – Mohamed Cheriet, for “outstanding contribution in data analytics and sustainable ICT engineering education and research.”

2015 – Yahia Antar

2014 – Jamal Deen, for “outstanding contributions in engineering education & dedication to students..”

2013 – Leslie Rusch, for “excellence in graduate supervision.”

2012 – Safa Kasap, for “outstanding contributions to electrical and electronic engineering education.”

2011 – Keith Hipel, for “contributions to the internationalization of engineering education via exchange program and systems.”

2010 – Vijay Bhargava, for “exemplary teaching, curriculum development and lifelong dedication to students.”

2009 – John Cartledge, for “outstanding contributions in inspiring postgraduates in fiber optics research.”

2008 – Andreas Antoniou, for “outstanding contributions to engineering education in Canada.”

2007 – David V. Plant, for “excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching and student supervision.”

2006 – Paresh C.Sen

2005 – Kostas Plataniotis, for “contributions to engineering education and inspirational guidance of graduate students.”

2004 – Hoang LeHuy

2003 – V. Ramachandran

2002 – John E. Quaicoe

2001 – Roy Billinton

2000 – Clarence W. de Silva

1999 – Robert H. MacPhie

1998 – K.D. Srivastava

1997 – R. Venkatesan

1996 – M. A. Rahman

1995 – Robert Burridge

1994 – Mohinder S. Sachdev

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.