Recipients of Outstanding Engineer Award

Back: IEEE Canada > Awards > Major Awards for Members

Recipients of this medal are outstanding Canadian engineers recognized for their important contributions to Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Normally not available to candidates in telecommunications engineering, power engineering, or computer engineering or science. Award established in 1994.

Medal for Oustanding Engineer Award

2023: Henry Leung, “For outstanding contributions to signal processing, sensor networks, and information fusion.”

2022: (No award)

2021: Tongwen Chen, for “outstanding contributions to the theory and applications of computer control systems, networked control, remote state estimation and advanced alarm management and design.”

2020: John Yeow, for “significant contributions to the research & development and commercialization of micro/nanodevices for medical and industrial applications.”

2019: Shen-En Qian, for “contributions to the development of innovative space technology.”

2018: Bhashyam Balaji, for “outstanding contributions to radar sensing and multi-sensor fusion.”

2017: Federico Rosei, for “contributions to the study of several classes of nano-materials.”

2016: Anthony Damini, for “outstanding contributions to synthetic aperture radar imaging and moving target indication systems development.”

2014: William O. Kennedy, for “contributions to the practice of power system protection and planning.”

2013: Rangaraj Rangayyan, for “pioneering contributions in Biomedical Engineering.”

2010: Edward J. Davison, for “seminal contributions to control system theory and applications.”

2009: Rajnikant Patel, for “outstanding contributions to the field of robotically enhanced surgery.”

2008: Kim Roberts, for “continuous outstanding contributions to the field of optical communications.”

2007: Barna Szabados, for “outstanding contributions to conservation demand management by reducing peak demand electrical load.”

2006: Charles Despins

2004: Haran Karmaker

2003: Charles Henville

2002: Ted Sargent

2001: Ibrahim Gedeon

2000: John Lodge

1999: Wayne D. Grover

1998: James R. McFarlane

1996: Wenyuan Li

1995: R. N. Scott

1994: Len Bruton

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.