Recipients of P. Ziogas Electric Power Award

Back: IEEE Canada > Awards > Major Awards for Members

IEEE Canada remembers, through the P. Ziogas Electric Power Award, his contributions to the development of electric power. Recipients of this medal are outstanding Canadian engineers recognized for their important contributions to the field of electric power engineering. Award established in 2007 and named in 2017.

Medal for Electric Power Award

  • 2023: (No award)

2022 – Peter Lehn

“For contributions to the design, analysis and application of power electronic systems.”

2021 – Chi Yung Chung

“For contributions to the theory and practice of power system stability and operation.”

2020 – Jing Jiang

“For contributions to electrical power systems from generation (nuclear power plants) to distribution (microgrids) through research and development of advanced control and energy management systems”

2019 – Bogdan Kasztenny

“For contributions to power system protection”

2018 – Ambrish Chandra

“For Contributions to Power Quality Improvement and Integration of Renewable Energy”

2017 – Praveen K Jain

“For contributions to the theory and practice of high frequency power converters”

2016 – Claudio Canizares

“For outstanding contributions to power engineering research and education”

2015 – Bill Kennedy

2014 – Wenyuan Li

“For contributions to methods and applications in power system reliability”

2013 – Wilsun Xu

“For contributions to the field of power quality and power system harmonics”

2012 – Mohinder Sachdev

“For contributions to education and research in Power Systems Protection”

2011 – Frank DeWinter

“For contributions to the Development of Medium Voltage PWM Variable Speed Drives”

2010 – John Densley

“for contributions to the understanding and diagnosis of power cable problems”

2009 – Bill McDermid

“for outstanding contributions to the development of rotating machine insulation testing”

2008 – Roy Billinton

“for pioneering research and application of reliability concepts in electric power systems”

2007 – Herman W. Dommel

“for outstanding contributions to optimal power flow, transient stability and electromagnetic transient analysis in electric power systems”

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.