Recipients of W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award

Back: IEEE Canada > Awards > Major Awards for Members

Recipients of this award are exceptional IEEE volunteers who are recognized for outstanding and sustained service to IEEE Canada and the Institute. Award established in 1995. More information about Wallace Stanley Read.

Medal for the W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award

2023 – Maike Luiken, “For influential leadership at the IEEE Section, Region and MGA levels, focussing on improving the organization; and passionate support for sustainability.”

2022 – (No award)

2021 – Voicu Groza, “For outstanding service and dedication to IEEE Canada (Region 7) and its members.”

2020 – Keith Brown, for “outstanding service and dedication to IEEE Canada (Region 7) and to the Engineering Profession at large.”

2019 – Anader Benyamin-Seeyar, for “outstanding and sustained service to the Communications and Information Theory Montreal Chapter, the IEEE Montreal Section, IEEE Canada, TISP in Canada and the Institute.”

2018 – Branislav Djokic, for “outstanding dedication and service to IEEE Canada and its members.”

2017 – Fabrice Labeau, for “volunteering within IEEE at the local level and within several societies.”

2016 – Sreraman Rajan, for “sustained dedication and outstanding service to IEEE Canada and its members.”

2015 – Raed Abdullah, for “outstanding and sustained dedication in serving IEEE Canada and its members.”

2014 – Gerard Dunphy, for “outstanding service and longstanding leadership to IEEE Canada.”

2013 – Wahab Almuhtadi, for “sustained leadership in the commercialization of wireless technology.”

2012 – Vijay Bhargava, for “meritorious service to Region 7 (IEEE Canada) at several levels.”

2011 – Ashfaq (Kash) Husain, for “inspirational, distinguished and sustained volunteer leadership in IEEE Canada.”

2010 – Mohamed El-Hawary, for “40 years of dedicated, outstanding, and sustained service to IEEE Canada.”

2009 – Dave Kemp, for “45 years of dedicated leadership and service to IEEE at the local, national, and international levels.”

2008 – Bruno Di Stefano, for “outstanding and sustained service to the profession & IEEE.”

2007 – Celia Desmond, for “outstanding service to the profession and to the society, in Canada and abroad.”

2006 – Adam Skorek

2005 – Miro Forrest, for “hard work and dedication to the IEEE.”

2004 – Witold Kinsner

2003 – Michel Lecours

2002 – Raymond D. Findlay

2001 – Ferial El-Hawary

2000 – Wally S. Read

[From 2000, new award name:  W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award]

1999 – Robert Alden & Raymond D. Findlay

1998 – Vijay Sood

1997 – Louis Dessaint

1996 – Thomas William Russel East

1995 – Hussein Mouftah

[Established in 1995: Outstanding Service Award]

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.