Canadian Society of Electrical and Computer Engineering (CSECE)

The Canadian Society of Electrical Engineering was formed in 1976 as a constituent society of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) following a six year period where a group of Canadian electrical engineers including Gordon Slemon, George Sinclair, Ceorge Walker, Tom Pavlasek, and Chuck Campling attempted to pull together the disparate forces of the EIC, IEEE Region 7, and the IEE Canadian branches to form a single Canadian technical society.

This society created an annual conference, now known as the Canadian Conference on Electrical and Computer Engineering, which was the brain-child of Vijay Bhargava who for many years was responsible for annual surpluses that were applied to finance the second most significant acomplishment of this relativly small fledgling society – the journal.

The Canadian Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering started publication in January 1976 (the title was changed in 1988 from the original Canadian Electrical Engineering Journal) and provides a medium for communicating technical information of particular interest to Canadians, while also serving as a forum to make Canadian electrical engineering achievements known to a worldwide readership. More information can be found on the Journal web site.

On January 1, 1990, the name of the society was officially changed to the Canadian Society of Electrical and Computer Engineering (CSECE). At that time, the symbol that now appears as the right hand portion of the IEEE Canada logo (displayed at the top of this page) was adopted as the symbol representing the CSECE.

This society was merged with IEEE Region 7 to form IEEE Canada in 1995.

Presidents by Year of Office

The following is a list of those elected to serve as President:

  • 1994 Tony Eastham
  • 1993 Jean-Rémi Giroux
  • 1992 Jean-Rémi Giroux
  • 1991 John Plant
  • 1990 John Plant
  • 1989 Cam Blachford
  • 1988 Cam Blachford
  • 1987 Mo El-Hawary
  • 1986 Mo El-Hawary
  • 1985 Tas Venetsanopoulos
  • 1984 Tas Venetsanopoulos
  • 1983 Tas Venetsanopoulos
  • 1982 Dinkar Mukhedkar
  • 1981 Dinkar Mukhedkar
  • 1980 Chuck Campling
  • 1979 Chuck Campling
  • 1978 Chuck Campling
  • 1977 Colin diCenzo
  • 1976 Tom Pavlasek

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.