The First 20 AIEE Sections

The First 20 AIEE Sections /
Les 20 premières sections de l’AIEE

Before 1912, the formation of IRE, local entities were creatures of the AIEE. This page records the first 20 sections formed under the AIEE banner. Toronto was the first and only section to be formed outside the United States in this period. Vancouver was the second – in 1911. Avant la formation d’IRE en 1912, les entités locales étaient des créations de l’AIEE. Cette page liste les 20 premières sections formées sous la bannière d’AIEE. Toronto était la première et la seule section à être formée à l’extérieur des Etats-Unis durant cette période. Vancouver était la seconde – en 1911.
Chicago Section 07 March 1893
Ithaca Section 15 October 1902
Pittsburgh Section 03 October 1902
Twin Cities Section 07 April 1902
Boston Section 13 February 1903
Schenectady Section 26 January 1903
Philadelphia Section 18 February 1903
Washington Section 09 April 1903
Saint Louis Section 14 January 1903
Toronto Section 30 September 1903
Berkshire Section 25 March 1904
Baltimore Section 16 December 1904
Atlanta Section 14 January 1904
San Francisco Section 23 December 1904
Seattle Section 19 January 1904
Cleveland Section 27 September 1907
Toledo Section 03 June 1907
Fort Wayne Section 14 August 1908
Madison Section 08 January 1909
Oregon Section 18 May 1909

With acknowledgement to Mary Ann Hoffman at the IEEE History Center. /
Remerciements à Mary Ann Hoffman du centre d’histoire de l’IEEE.

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.