Regional Directors by Year of Office

The Board of Directors is the governing board of IEEE Canada, and is also known as the IEEE Region 7 Committee. The following is a list of those elected to serve as Canadian Region (7) Director (and IEEE Canada President beginning in 1994). Le conseil d’administration est le conseil de direction d’IEEE Canada et est également connu en tant que Comité de la région 7 d’IEEE. Ce qui suit est une liste de ceux élus pour servir comme directeur de la région Canadienne (7) (et Président d’IEEE Canada depuis 1994).
2024-2025 Thamir Murad Toronto Section
2022-2023 Robert Anderson Southern Alberta Section
2020-2021 Jason Gu Canadian Atlantic Section
2018-2019 Maike Luiken London Section
2016-2017 Witold Kinsner Winnipeg Section
2014-2015 Amir Aghdam Montreal Section
2012-2013 Keith Brown Toronto Section
2010-2011 Om Malik Southern Alberta Section
2008-2009 Ferial El-Hawary Canadian Atlantic Section
2006-2007 Bob Hanna Toronto Section
2004-2005 Bill Kennedy Southern Alberta Section
2002-2003 Mo El-Hawary Canadian Atlantic Section
2000-2001 Celia Desmond Toronto Section
1998-1999 Dave Kemp Winnipeg Section
1996-1997 Linda Weaver Canadian Atlantic Section
1994-1995 Ray Findlay Hamilton Section
(and later IEEE President in 2002)
1992-1993 Vijay Bhargava Victoria Section
1990-1991 Tony Eastham Kingston Section
1988-1989 Bob Alden Hamilton Section
1986-1987 Gord English Victoria Section
1984-1985 Wally Read Newfoundland Section
(and later IEEE President in 1996)
1982-1983 Fred Heath Toronto Section
1980-1981 Jean-Jacques Archambault Montreal Section
1978-1979 Ted Glass Winnipeg Section
1976-1977 Frank Creed Ottawa Section
1974-1975 George Sinclair Toronto Section
1972-1973 Doug Hinton Bay of Quinte Section
1970-1971 Bill Thompson Vancouver Section ?
1968-1969 Bob Tanner Ottawa Section
(and later IEEE President in 1972)
1966-1967 Allan Oxley Montreal Section ?
1964-1965 J.C.R. Punchard Montreal Section
1963-1964 John Henderson Ottawa Section ?

AIEE and IRE merge to create IEEE in 1963. /
IEE et IRE fusionnent pour créer IEEE en 1963.

Directors of AIEE and IRE in Canada
IEEE Region 7 (Canada) History in the Engineering and Technology History Wiki

With acknowledgement to the IEEE History Center. /
Avec la reconnaissance à le « History Center » de l’IEEE.

IEEE Canadian Foundation

The Personal


IEEE Job Site

IEEE Member Discounts



© Copyright 2023 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.